State Treasurer Sarah Godlewski launched the Treasurers’ Task Force for Homeowners on March 4, 2020, to help Wisconsinites buy their first homes and afford to stay in them. Made up of local treasurers from across the state and community partners, this coalition is often on the front lines when it comes to helping people stay in their homes. The task force is creating partnerships across communities, sharing ideas, and coordinating resources. The ultimate goal will be to identify strategies to help Wisconsinites prevent penalties, delinquencies, and foreclosures.

“Owning a home is a big part of the American dream, but it’s often not easy to get there and stay there. We’re seeing a decline in first-time homebuyers in Wisconsin, and we’re also seeing people having a hard time staying in their homes, particularly seniors,” said State Treasurer Sarah Godlewski. “By working with Treasurers, who are on the front lines of communicating with taxpayers, this task force will be able to come up with innovative solutions that can help empower homeowners and keep​ Wisconsinites in their homes.”

The Task Force is working to create a network that will empower homebuyers with the financial tools to own and maintain their homes. The task force will also look at creating a warning system that can trigger early intervention when a homeowner may be at risk of foreclosure. By creating an alert system for homeowners, local treasurers and community advocates can work with the homeowners to strategize ways to prevent foreclosure.

“As someone who works with taxpayers and homeowners every day, I’m excited to be chairing a task force that will be actively working on the issues Wisconsinites face when they are trying to buy a home and stay in one,” said Kenosha County Treasurer Teri Jacobson. “Wisconsinites deserve a dedicated network of resources when it comes to homeownership, and it is a pleasure to see state and local officials from all corners of the state working together to find real solutions.”

​Treasurers' Task Force for Homeowners​

​​Task Force Members

  • ​State Treasurer Sarah Godlewski
  • Teri Jacobson, Kenosha County Treasurer (Chair)
  • Chris Astrella, Town of Oakland Clerk/Treasurer
  • Bryan Bainbridge, Great Lakes Inter-Tribal Council
  • Amanda Bartz, City of Tomahawk Clerk/Treasurer
  • Hetti Brown, Coulee Community Action Program
  • Spencer Coggs, City of Milwaukee Treasurer
  • John Dickert, Department of Revenue
  • Carrie Eastlick, Grant County Treasurer
  • Jennifer Fasula, Foundation for Rural Housing
  • David Frohling, Dodge County Board Supervisor
  • Adam Gallagher, Dane County Treasurer
  • Katherine Gaulke, Town of Delavan Supervisor
  • Johanna Jimenez, Take Root Milwaukee
  • Tom Kramer, Town of Norway Administrator/Treasurer & Racine County Supervisor
  • Joe Murray, Wisconsin Realtors Association
  • Lynn Neeck, Price County Treasurer
  • Ann Peterson, Village of Siren Clerk/Treasurer
  • Scott Phillips, Wisconsin Housing and Economic Development Authority
  • Myra Piergrossi, Village of Fox Crossing Finance Director/Treasurer
  • Amanda Toney, Town of Brooklyn & Green Lake County Treasurer

Property Tax Information & Resources

​​​​​Homeowner Resources

​​Resources for Local Treasurers & Housing Advocates